Gluttony: Breakfast Quinoa

Okay, I know what you’re thinking: “QUINOA FOR BREAKFAST?!”

but seriously, this recipe is freaking delicious.

The original recipe can be found here by the almighty Martha Stewart.

The problem is that dear Martha doesn’t exactly strive for healthy recipes, so I’ve tweaked it a little and here is my version.

Vegan Healthy Breakfast Quinoa

or

Holy Crap I Can’t Believe This is Quinoa

Makes 2 servings

What you’ll need:

  • 2 cups unsweetened almond milk (or vanilla flavored almond milk if you want it to be a little sweeter)
  • 1 cup quinoa, rinsed
  • 2 tablespoons raw blue agave (This may not be the precise amount I used…I sort of guessed…you can always add more later)
  • 1/8 teaspoon ground cinnamon (I love cinnamon, so I just dumped a bunch in there)
  • 1 cup (1/2 pint) fresh blueberries, plus more for serving

How to make it:

  1. Bring milk to a boil in a small saucepan. Add quinoa, and return to a boil. Reduce heat to low, and simmer, covered, until three-quarters of the milk has been absorbed, about 15 minutes.
  2. Stir in agave and cinnamon. Cook, covered, until almost all the milk has been absorbed, about 8 minutes. Stir in blueberries, and cook for 30 seconds. Serve with additional milk, agave, cinnamon, and blueberries.

This is seriously a super-breakfast as it is LOADED with healthy things, and a great way to start your day, plus it’s delicious.

The great thing about using almond milk as opposed to the whole milk the original recipe calls for is that almond milk has the same amount of calcium per serving, has far fewer calories, and is rich in vitamins.

If you’ve never used agave nectar before, fear not! It is an excellent all natural sugar substitute with a very low glycemic index. I use agave as a substitute in most of my baking, and in my coffee every morning.

Why quinoa instead of oatmeal? I LOVE oatmeal, but quinoa is truly a super grain. It’s loaded with protein, amino acids, fiber, and other yummy healthy things. Check out this article about the magical quinoa!

Okay, now I’m done with my health tirade…happy breakfast! 🙂

About Lacey @ My Boring Closet

Denver-based life and style blog for not-so-boring women who want to live and dress well without spending a fortune.

2 responses to “Gluttony: Breakfast Quinoa

  1. Kirstin

    Ehhh I think most people are thinking how the hell do you pronounce quinoa???? Kind of like when acai was cool and everyone mispronounced it.

  2. haha I still can’t pronounce acai :-/ but it’s KEEN-WAH but this is America so you can pronounce it however you damn well please.

Leave a comment