Sloth: The Walking Dead

20120622-183151.jpg

Ok, so I’m a little behind on this one. People have been talking about AMC’s The Walking Dead for a while now, but zombies scare me, so I’ve been reluctant to watch the show, but I got curious the other night on Netflix and decided to give it a shot.

HOLY. CRAP.

BALLS.

What a great show.

Let me warn you: the pilot episode is scary. Not American Horror Story scary, but very suspenseful. I highly recommend watching the first few episodes in a row.

The show focuses on Rick Grimes, a sheriff who is shot on the job and wakes up in the hospital alone in a world that has been taken over by “walkers” (zombies!). He is finally reunited with his wife and son, along with other survivors, and they face crazy circumstances and try to survive in a world taken over by a dangerous virus.

I seriously watched the first two seasons in like two days.

No shame.

What I love about this show is that it really explores the moral dilemmas that truly would plague us if such an epidemic were to happen in our world. Now, I certainly don’t believe in zombies, but I do find the theory fascinating. What would you do to protect yourself and your family?

The characters in the group of survivors are relatable and very real. They are posed with moral choices at every twist and turn.

But what you will probably most remember is the GORE.

I do not love gory movies, but somehow it’s different when people are fighting zombies. If a zombie’s body gets ripped in half when survivors try to pull it out of a well, you really don’t care. But you should know, every episode is very very gory, so be prepared!

The lead actors are of course fabulous (Andrew Lincoln, Jon Bernthal, Sarah Wayne Callies), but I also think it’s important to note the main child actor in the show, Chandler Riggs. That kid can act his butt off. What would your childhood have been like if you’d had to fight for your life every single day? Riggs does an incredible job showing a child’s point of view in a post-apocalyptic society, and I’ll be the
first to say it: He deserves and Emmy nomination! I don’t know how kid actors do it! This kid is fantastic.

Anyway, watch the show. You’ll get hooked. The end.

About Lacey @ My Boring Closet

Denver-based life and style blog for not-so-boring women who want to live and dress well without spending a fortune.

Leave a comment